A SpaceX Dragon cargo capsule is perched at the end of the International Space Station's robotic arm after being grappled by astronauts on March 3, 2013, during the CRS-2 (SpaceX 2) cargo delivery mission.
CREDIT: NASA TV  Enlarge

A privately built robotic space capsule filled with supplies for the International Space Station successfully arrived at the orbiting laboratory early Sunday (March 3), one day later than planned due to a temporary thruster glitch.

The unmanned Dragon cargo capsule, built by the private spaceflight company SpaceX, was captured by astronauts wielding the space station's robotic arm at 5:31 a.m. EST (1031 GMT) as both spacecraft sailed 243 miles (391 kilometers) above Northern Ukraine.

"Congratulations to the SpaceX and the Dragon team in Houston and in California," space station commander Kevin Ford, a NASA astronaut, radioed Mission Control after the successful Dragon arrival. "They say it is not where you start, but where you finish that counts and you guys really finished this one on the mark. You're aboard and we've got lots of science on there to bring aboard and get done."

NASA officials said the Dragon capsule is scheduled to be attached to the space station at 9:40 a.m. EST (1440 GMT). You can watch NASA's SpaceX Dragon docking webcast on SPACE.com,courtesy of NASA TV. 

SpaceX launched the Dragon capsule toward the space station on Friday (March 1), with the spacecraft riding the company's Falcon 9 rocket into orbit. While the launch was smooth, the Dragon capsule ran into trouble after it separated from the Falcon 9 rocket when three of four thruster pods did not activate as planned.

More of the story, click image